Which one would you choose?

Anything non-technical about the Mazda Bongo Friendee van

Moderators: Bongoplod, aitch

tootsmcfruits
Bongonaut

Which one would you choose?

Post by tootsmcfruits » Thu Jan 26, 2017 3:00 pm

So I'm new to all this bongoing (and to Bongo Fury! Hello to all!) and still on the search to find the perfect Bongo for me - which appears to be quite difficult from Aberdeen. :shock:

The easiest bet for me appears to be getting something from a dealer and have come across 2 I like the look of at Campers Scotland. I can't afford a lot so was looking at possibly getting one of their cheaper models with a side conversion in it, but was looking for some thoughts on the matter not knowing any Bongo owners personally, and it's always good to hear other peoples opinions on things!

The first is a 1996 2.5 Turbo Diesel 4WD AFT sitting at 97,000 miles (ex hire vehicle) which I've seen, and it looks in pretty good condition, no visible rust (although I'm going to look again to make sure!).

And the other other is a 2001 2.0 petrol tin top sitting at 63,000 miles which I can't see yet as it will be imported in February.

Both are undersealed and come with 12 months warranty.

My question is - out of the two which one would you be more inclined to buy (obviously all being well with MOTs etc)?

I know that the petrol Bongo's can be a bit gutsy on the fuel in town, but I'd reckon I'd be more likely to have it on the open road (it's not for commuting), but hear that they lack a bit of power, and I wonder if sticking in a side conversion would make it too heavy to get up a hill? I know there'll only be two of us in the van but don't know what kind of speeds we're talking about getting up a hill somewhere.