Same tyre size on all wheels?

Technical questions and answers about the Mazda Bongo

Moderators: Doone, westonwarrior

Printer
Bongonaut

Same tyre size on all wheels?

Post by Printer » Fri May 11, 2012 3:54 pm

Hi all

I have a 2WD 2.5 Diesel Automatic Bongo.

I posted here last year about tyres and followed the advice to buy 215/65 for my rear tyres and keep the 195/70s on front. The front tyres are now needing replaced.

So should I get another 2 of the same 215/65 R15 100H for the front?

Someone said I should have smaller tyres on front but im not so sure?

Was gonna go for these four all round as this what I have on rear at the moment:
http://www.camskill.co.uk/m53b0s422p723 ... 100H_XL_TL_

Thoughts please
scanner
Supreme Being

Re: Same tyre size on all wheels?

Post by scanner » Fri May 11, 2012 4:16 pm

I've been running the same size all round for almost 5 years now - no point in doing anything else.

Anyway in a 2WD it makes not a jot of difference, it's only 4WD where the maximum difference in circumference mustn't exceed 1% or so.
helen&tony
Supreme Being

Post by helen&tony » Fri May 11, 2012 4:17 pm

Hi
Four of those will do very nicely, and 100 load rating is excellent
Cheers
Helen
In the beginning there was nothing , then God said "Let there be Light".....There was still nothing , but ,by crikey, you could see it better.
Simon Jones
Supreme Being

Post by Simon Jones » Fri May 11, 2012 5:58 pm

I believe the Accelera's are directional so you wont be able to swap left to right & vice versa. You also don't really want a directional tyre on the spare. Obviously, it'll still work if fitted the wrong way round, but the handling may go a bit squiffy in the wet :).