Limp mode unable to diagnose cause

Technical questions and answers about the Mazda Bongo

Moderators: Doone, westonwarrior

Onegoldenearth
Apprentice Bongonaut

Limp mode unable to diagnose cause

Post by Onegoldenearth » Thu May 26, 2022 10:10 pm

Hi everyone,

I'm new to this so hope I'm posting in the right place.

I have a bongo model KH-SGL3. It is an early facelift model with the newer fly by wire fuel pump.

Whilst working under the bonnet on the passengers side I recently heard a vacuum leak on a part of the passenger side turbo actuator vaccum system.

After taking it apart I found a bodge in a broken t piece so fixed it. Started the engine to confirm and noticed the actuator arm was not moving. So went about freeing that up. The next time I took her for a drive I got the yellow flashing light of 'OH NO'.

I Read the codes as;

1114 Air intake-which I believe is the 2 pin temperature sensor next to the handbrake that operates the scavenger fan. Which I have tested with a multi meter in water@20 degrees and 80 degrees and is working fine.

1227 waste gate failed closed over pressure- literally no idea about this one
1228 waste gate failed open under pressure- again no idea.

Assuming these other codes were maybe something to do with the turbo and that actuator rod I have double checked the vacuum tubes and the two electrical connectors on the solenoid and pressure sensors on that side were all connected properly. I removed both EGR valves tested the basic resistance of the switch on one and cleaned them both checking their vacuum pipes when reinstalling. I gave the turbo a better clean without removing via the exhaust outlet and moved the actuator rod repeatedly until it was loose enough to move pretty easily with a finger and thumb.

Cleared the codes by removing positive for a few minutes and took her for a spin.

Same yellow flashing lights. I have repeated reading the codes, clearing and taking for a test drive and almost like clockwork they're back.