Diesel heaters

Anything non-technical about the Mazda Bongo Friendee van

Moderators: Bongoplod, aitch

Hazzobongo
Bongolier

Diesel heaters

Post by Hazzobongo » Mon Jan 31, 2022 9:51 pm

Thinking about getting one but have a couple of queries.

1 How noisy are they and are they an easy enough DIY.

2 does/has anyone fitted or use one of the millions of Chinese versions on the bay?
Jillygumbo
Supreme Being

Re: Diesel heaters

Post by Jillygumbo » Tue Feb 01, 2022 6:29 pm

I have an Eberspacher D2 fitted and have it serviced by the Eberspacher registered people, of which one is in Swindon, so helpful to me. Now running very well and quietly once up to temperature.

It does tend to 'roar' a little in the beginning, especially when you're parked next door!

Most campers now have a diesel heater, so the noise is becoming 'normal'!

I've no experience of the chinese ones but I have seen posts from people saying to replace the pipes and parts with good ones BEFORE fitting. I've no idea what that means for the chinese ones! :wink:
Jillygumbo, Tonto & Ruca
The night conceals the world, but reveals the universe!
Hazzobongo
Bongolier

Post by Hazzobongo » Tue Feb 01, 2022 8:49 pm

OK Thanks JG, where is yours fitted. I've seen a few of those eber ones second hand on ebay but still double the price of the China ones so its basically a case of buying one run it till it goes kaput and buy another just like every other China tat we can buy these days.
nth
Bongolier

Post by nth » Fri Feb 04, 2022 5:39 pm

The Chinese ones generally come with everything you need to install them, wiring, pipework, controller, ducts, outlets, exhaust & silencer etc.
Just be aware of getting an ebay bargain on a genuine Eberspacher or Webasto that has previously been fitted to another vehicle, often they are just chopped out & before you know it you need to by all the extra bits for the install & this soon adds up.