Passed the test

Anything non-technical about the Mazda Bongo Friendee van

Moderators: Bongoplod, aitch

oibaf
Bongolier

Passed the test

Post by oibaf » Mon Nov 15, 2021 6:54 pm

Hi folks,

Checking in to say Bertie Bongo has passed the CVRT (which is the equivalent of a camper MOT here). Not a bother on him!

I'm kinda considering getting something like this for Bertie, as a treat, considering he's done so well: https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B08JZ1J7KQ/ ... _lig_dp_it

I know people have fitted fancy speakers and nice Pioneer head units to there Bongo's already so I'd say something like this shouldn't be too hard to fit. Just not sure if I'd need a cage around it or not to ensure a snug fit (I've never done one before!).

He's probably due a fluid change all around and I should probably get underneath and make sure I've the underseal topped up as well.

Hope you are all doing well and your collective Bongos are good!
g8dhe
Supreme Being

Re: Passed the test

Post by g8dhe » Mon Nov 15, 2021 7:03 pm

Be aware that most Android based units continue to draw significant power from the battery even when "Off" you will need to arrange that it is powered via the Ignition switch or a Swap Loom that contains an additional relay to actually switch the device off otherwise you will find that your batteries will be drained within a week :-( Another factor to consider is that many of these units are using older versions of the Android operating system which are no longer supported and more recent programs will not always work with the older versions.
Geoff
2001 Aero V6, AFT, full side conversion.
Image Spherical Visions
Bob
Supreme Being

Post by Bob » Mon Nov 15, 2021 7:41 pm

Glad he's passed. :D :D :D
oibaf
Bongolier

Post by oibaf » Tue Nov 16, 2021 11:55 am

Thanks folks. Good point Geoff, although the unit I was looking at is actually based on Windows CE so it's positively ancient.
ever after.
Bongolier

Post by ever after. » Fri Nov 19, 2021 10:13 am