I'm a bit twp. Leisure Battery.

Questions & answers about awnings, mattresses, and other things to make life on the road more comfortable. This section is for Bongo-specific kit only. No talk about backpacking tents here!

Moderator: Muzorewa

Grannie Annie
Bongonaut

I'm a bit twp. Leisure Battery.

Post by Grannie Annie » Mon Sep 17, 2012 11:19 pm

OK. Twp iawn. More than a bit thick.

I'm new to this. I picked up the new Bongo last Saturday and am converting these old bones from being a camper in a tent to a camper in a van. The new van isn't converted but if I'm going to be sat inside a van rather than a tent without a hook-up, should I be thinking about getting a leisure battery? I have a list of questions, therefore.

* Where would I keep one?
* What would/could it power?
* How long does the power last?
* What's the alternative?

As a tenter I've never used electrical things or needed a hook-up but I don't half get anxious when my smartphone loses its power. I can't really use my gas lamp inside a van, can I ? So if I'm going to be sat inside a van with the inner lights on and a couple of phones charging up how long is the battery under the bonnet going to last without the engine being fired up?

Do I sound a bit dim? Perhaps I need my battery charged up.
BigPanzer
Tribal Elder

Re: I'm a bit twp. Leisure Battery.

Post by BigPanzer » Tue Sep 18, 2012 2:56 am

Hi Annie,

First of all, though its nothing to do with the leisure battery, consider getting a low coolant alarm fitted particularly if its a diesel. If the coolant level goes down too much on them you could be looking at big bucks. Don't rely on the temp gauge, they are a waste of space and don't give an audible alarm. Contct Haydn Callow on this forum for details.

Now to your questions: