Adding a driveawy awning to a Fiamma f35

Questions & answers about awnings, mattresses, and other things to make life on the road more comfortable. This section is for Bongo-specific kit only. No talk about backpacking tents here!

Moderator: Muzorewa

Post Reply
User avatar
the1andonly
Tribal Elder
Posts: 750
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2012 8:17 pm
Location: Northampton

Adding a driveawy awning to a Fiamma f35

Post by the1andonly » Sat Apr 22, 2017 4:05 pm

I've looked though old threads and cant find what I need.
I have a Fiamma f35 pro 2.5m wide, I wish to add a driveaway awning (width 2.8m)
the awning brackets interfere with using figure of 8 on the gutter.

I've tried Kador strip (4x6) but does not fit in the thin channel at the top rear of the fiamma.
also using the t3 brackets would require leaving the strip attached.

There is not a channel under the lid like the omnistore.

what other options have been used with this configuration?
Have considered custom straps to the roof loops (swmbo needs to get busy)
Tying guyrope was quick and easy, undoing it less easy.
Using a pole with fabricated P hooks on rear of box also concidered.
must be an easier way

Current thinking is to use a rail fixed to 4 brackets (above cassette) that are in turn bolted to the back of the Fiamma (using the same slot as the current mounting brackets

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Caravan-Motor ... Swm8VUvkGW

some one must have done this before, have I missed something.
User avatar
g8dhe
Supreme Being
Posts: 7010
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 10:06 pm
Location: Worthing, West Sussex.
Contact:

Re: Adding a driveawy awning to a Fiamma f35

Post by g8dhe » Sat Apr 22, 2017 7:49 pm

Isn't there a figure of 8 slot on the top rear of the cover? I've arrowed in green...
Image
Geoff
97 V6, AFT, full side conversion.
Image Spherical Visions
User avatar
the1andonly
Tribal Elder
Posts: 750
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2012 8:17 pm
Location: Northampton

Re: Adding a driveawy awning to a Fiamma f35

Post by the1andonly » Sat Apr 22, 2017 7:58 pm

Thanks Geoff
theere is nothing like that on mine.
http://www.vanline-ni.com/18070?languag ... 0wodLBMNXQ
Just under the red thing is a channel I Thought was for Kaodr strip but does not fit
http://www.vanline-ni.com/image/cache/d ... 00x500.jpg
User avatar
the1andonly
Tribal Elder
Posts: 750
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2012 8:17 pm
Location: Northampton

Re: Adding a driveawy awning to a Fiamma f35

Post by the1andonly » Sat Apr 22, 2017 8:14 pm

This shows the awning fitted to a T3 adaptor (as used on the Bongo)

http://www.thefiammacentre.co.uk/kit-vw ... apter.html#
User avatar
g8dhe
Supreme Being
Posts: 7010
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 10:06 pm
Location: Worthing, West Sussex.
Contact:

Re: Adding a driveawy awning to a Fiamma f35

Post by g8dhe » Sat Apr 22, 2017 10:27 pm

Ah I see, they use the outside of the slot for the clamp and I guess the inside of slot itself isn't accessible to put the Kador strip in ?
Geoff
97 V6, AFT, full side conversion.
Image Spherical Visions
User avatar
the1andonly
Tribal Elder
Posts: 750
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2012 8:17 pm
Location: Northampton

Re: Adding a driveawy awning to a Fiamma f35

Post by the1andonly » Sat Apr 22, 2017 10:41 pm

even the part available is too small to put the Kador strip in. It appears to be a function of bending the mounting section.
If the Kador strip had fitted I would have permamently fitted in between the two mounting brackets.
the top slot is too small for small side and bottom slot is too large for the large side.
User avatar
the1andonly
Tribal Elder
Posts: 750
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2012 8:17 pm
Location: Northampton

Re: Adding a driveawy awning to a Fiamma f35

Post by the1andonly » Sat Jul 15, 2017 10:43 pm

cant remember if i posted this else where but a similar question made me think.
I used this
http://www.olearymotorhomes.co.uk/awnin ... 1881-p.asp
postage also cost £15 but does the job
mounted using 6 brackets using the fiamma slots for 6mm bots and aluminium brackets.
if i have a PB account that still allows i will post pickies/ eventually.
NB will be able to tell me if iv'e already done this.
Post Reply