Charging starter battery

Questions & answers about kitchen units, stoves, fridges, heaters, water tanks, seats, mattresses etc etc.

Moderator: Doone

bongo frenzee
Bongolier

Charging starter battery

Post by bongo frenzee » Tue Apr 30, 2013 4:53 pm

I have a question which might be a bit stoopid but I am not technically-minded in the slightest...

I've been having problems with my starter battery going flat when I've not used my Bongo for a couple of weeks. I've had to call out the AA 3 times now and I'm on my 3rd new battery in 3 years. They all suggested a trickle charger, but I wondered if the starter battery can be charged from the electric hook-up?

I have a full side conversion with a Zig unit which has a switch for 'caravan battery' (leisure) or 'car battery' (starter) - if I put the Bongo on electric hook-up and switched to 'car battery' would this charge the starter battery? The switch is normally always on 'caravan' so as to use the LB and not flatten the starter, so I assume there's a connection to the starter from the Zig unit.

Hope someone can help, thanks!
Living for the weekends...

CUIDADO! VEICULO BONGO!
briwy
Supreme Being

Re: Charging starter battery

Post by briwy » Tue Apr 30, 2013 6:03 pm

It is possible to do it but if as you say you aren't technical then it's probably best not to as it involves playing with the 240v mains.
This gives some idea of what is involved. Second page.

http://www.igmaynard.co.uk/bongo/forum/ ... 0&start=30
g8dhe
Supreme Being

Post by g8dhe » Tue Apr 30, 2013 6:40 pm

The Zig charger is a proper charger for that purpose, and is rated suitably, so yes that is the purpose of the switch!
However just one thing which Zig unit do you have ? One of the latest versions Zig 8 & 9 may just parrallel the batteries together, rather than select an individual battery. If you have a Zig marque 1 the that's fine.
Geoff
2001 Aero V6, AFT, full side conversion.
Image Spherical Visions
briwy
Supreme Being