Winter tyres

Technical questions and answers about the Mazda Bongo

Moderators: Doone, westonwarrior

Beakerboo
Junior Bongonaut

Winter tyres

Post by Beakerboo » Sat Feb 02, 2019 2:36 pm

Hi, I’ve no experience of using winter tyres but wondering if I need them (just also exploring getting the van moved to a 4WD), do people use 2 sets of tyres or 2 sets of wheels and tyres they swap over? Or are all season tyres ok?? Sorry I’m a bit clueless with all this so would appreciate some tips! Thanks
Bob
Supreme Being

Re: Winter tyres

Post by Bob » Sat Feb 02, 2019 2:49 pm

Hi 8)

I'm not sure what you mean by, "Getting the van moved to 4 wheel drive".

But yes, all season tyres are exactly that, and very good.

Personaly I do have 2 sets of steel rims with winter and summer tyres and swap roughly November/March.

Hope that helps. :wink:
cwilliams255
Bongolier

Post by cwilliams255 » Sat Feb 02, 2019 5:48 pm

I have 2 sets of tyres for both my Mazda 3 and my Bongo. This means I have to pay the garage everytime I swap them! I wasn't expecting my keep my 3 this long otherwise I would have bought a seperate set of wheels! I've only got stuck once in snow with winters on a FWD car and the Bongo with winters made it up everything I could find last year - my road is 90 degree start approx 1/4 gradient and had 7 inches of snow last year. I'm about to swap the Bongo to all seasons though as I think I can get away with it especially as fitting an LSD. Got a good deal on Michelin Allclimate+ which seem to get pretty good reviews.
BongoBongo123
Supreme Being

Post by BongoBongo123 » Wed Feb 13, 2019 11:53 am

If you do a search for Maxxis AP2 tyres (and all season tyre) which a few of of have on here. They feel nice on the Bongo for the 700kms or so I have done on them.

Here you go you can have a read up:

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=72836&hilit=Maxxis+AP2
Eratosthenes
Bongolier

Post by Eratosthenes » Wed Feb 13, 2019 8:21 pm