None of my fans work,

Technical questions and answers about the Mazda Bongo

Moderators: Doone, westonwarrior

Bongo bango
Apprentice Bongonaut

None of my fans work,

Post by Bongo bango » Fri Aug 24, 2018 7:11 pm

Hi, I'm new to the bongo, but have heard horror stories about cooling issues, mine has had a head gasket and radiator 6 months ago, bought it 2 weeks ago but none of the fans ever come on, the temp gauge never goes higher than a third of the way up, but I'm sure it's hotter than this, can all the fans be converted to manual?
g8dhe
Supreme Being

Re: None of my fans work,

Post by g8dhe » Fri Aug 24, 2018 8:45 pm

Have you checked the sensor that tells the ECU to turn the fans on? Have you checked that turning the Aircon on turns on the fans as well?
Manually controlling the fans is a recipie for disaster!
Geoff
2001 Aero V6, AFT, full side conversion.
Image Spherical Visions
Northern Bongolow
Supreme Being

Post by Northern Bongolow » Fri Aug 24, 2018 9:29 pm

The lecky plugs to the fans are just inside the bonnet, clipped to the top of the fan shrowd. There are 2 plugs, one for each fan. They suffer badly from corrosion as they catch the weather/ traffic spray. Unclip them, clean up, then as Geoff says switch on your Aircon to test.
mikeonb4c
Supreme Being
Location: Living with Mango Bongo in the North West but with a tendency to roam

Post by mikeonb4c » Fri Aug 24, 2018 10:01 pm

Bongo bango wrote: Fri Aug 24, 2018 7:11 pm Hi, I'm new to the bongo, but have heard horror stories about cooling issues, mine has had a head gasket and radiator 6 months ago, bought it 2 weeks ago but none of the fans ever come on, the temp gauge never goes higher than a third of the way up, but I'm sure it's hotter than this, can all the fans be converted to manual?
Is the cab heater giving nice hot air? If not could be no thermostat fitted (or stuck open) and this would prevent engine reaching operating temp esp when on the move and in cold weather.