2.0ltr rocker gasket replacement

Technical questions and answers about the Mazda Bongo

Moderators: Doone, westonwarrior

Roy748
Bongolier

2.0ltr rocker gasket replacement

Post by Roy748 » Tue May 16, 2017 10:23 am

Newbie here.. Hello all.. I have just bought my first bongo a 2.0lt 2001 and seek some guidance if possible.

I have noticed that the rocker gasket is leaking, and having viewed a few it appears to be a common problem.

I have bought a new gasket and would like a guide on how to go about replacing it, is their any special procedures I need to adhere to, what are the torque settings for tightening down the gasket etc. I have read the review for the replacement of a diesel engine but wondered if they differ.

Thanks in advance
Bongolia
Supreme Being

Re: 2.0ltr rocker gasket replacement

Post by Bongolia » Tue May 16, 2017 10:34 am

You need to remove the inlet plenum/manifold so it might be wise to source one of those gaskets as well before you start.
Northern Bongolow
Supreme Being

Post by Northern Bongolow » Tue May 16, 2017 11:50 am

Roy748
Bongolier

Post by Roy748 » Tue May 16, 2017 9:43 pm

Hello. Thank you both for your time in replying. The diagram really helps thank you. Hopefully someone will give me the torque settings too.
Roy748
Bongolier

Post by Roy748 » Tue May 16, 2017 9:48 pm

Having viewed the diagram if someone can provide a walk through that would really help. As for the inlet manifold gasket you mention I could not see that on the diagram so would not know what to order.
Northern Bongolow
Supreme Being

Post by Northern Bongolow » Wed May 17, 2017 2:46 am

the part he stated is on this drawing.
if you click on the numbers on the drawing it opens up on the left, this gives the part number and often a part description, click on it again to close it.

http://lushprojects.com/bongopartsmk2/c ... no=.html#1
Bongolia
Supreme Being

Post by Bongolia » Wed May 17, 2017 10:52 am

Raise the engine covers.