Rear vent air con issues

Technical questions and answers about the Mazda Bongo

Moderators: Doone, westonwarrior

Yeti
Junior Bongonaut

Rear vent air con issues

Post by Yeti » Sun Sep 11, 2016 6:48 pm

Hi everyone,

I recently took the plunge and bought a Bongo so I'm a total noob to all things Bongo, for the moment :wink: Please go easy on me as it's my first post.

When I bought my Bongo (private sale), I checked the air con blew cold and, when I used the "rear" button on the air-con control, that it blew cold in the back too, which it did. I took the Bongo out for a jaunt today and the kids were complaining that they were warm in the back seat. I pressed the magic "rear" button. The light came on but they were still complaining. On closer inspection it seems there is no air being blown out of the rear top vents. The dashboard vents still blow cold but there is nothing coming out of the vents in the back. When I press the "rear" button I can hear a fan like noise from behind the panel which is behind the drivers seat but nothing comes from the rear top vents or side vent. I don't want to have to remove interior panels (and the kitchen) unless it is absolutely necessary and, if it came to that, I'd take it to the garage (lazy, I know).

I've had a search of the forums but couldn't see anything that matches the issue. Are there any simple checks to narrow down the issue?

The Bongo is a 2004 2.0 auto Aero city runner with full side conversion. The air-con panel is the digital type with no rear controls other than the "rear" button on it.
"It is his love, it is his passion"
"It is his fault he didn't lock the garage!"
Bongolia
Supreme Being

Re: Rear vent air con issues

Post by Bongolia » Sun Sep 11, 2016 6:56 pm

Welcome.
There should be a controller for the rear unit in the back. Have a look in the cupboards low down they hid mine in there rather than extend the cabling. #-o
Yours may be the same.
CheekyRich
Junior Bongonaut