Overheating/coolant boiling after coolant change and bleed

Technical questions and answers about the Mazda Bongo

Moderators: Doone, westonwarrior

Long
Bongonaut

Overheating/coolant boiling after coolant change and bleed

Post by Long » Mon Jul 25, 2016 3:52 pm

Hi I am new to the Bongo Fury, I have a 1997 2.5 turbo diesel bongo. loved it until this problem, which is making me very stressed and confused about bongo coolant system.

I recently drained and changed my coolant. I also learned how to bleed the system with the hose under the passenger seat. I did it for about 2 hours. After completing the bongo runs fine, the next day completely cool the level in the header tank drops and i re-fill back to between low and full. I leave it for 1 week or more and the level stays exactly the same in the header tank.

however once i drive it for about 15-20 mins the coolant starts to boil and spills out of the header tank onto to floor and the car overheats. I pull over and let it cool right away. I thought i didn't bleed it properly, so i bleed it again for 3 hours this time. making sure there is no more bubbles coming out of the funnel to the point when i rev the engine the coolant come out of the funnel instead of sucking it in.

the lower radiator hose is hot and when heater is on the air is hot. However when left over night the next day it over heats again after 15-20 min drive.

by the way. BEFORE my coolant change everything was working perfectly. Very hot day AC on no over heating. So i am very confused as to why it is over heating now?

i used diesel long life coolant which is orange? the original coolant was green. does this make a difference? also what should i be looking at? this problem did not start until i changed the coolant so what part could be faulty? I also checked my oil, no signs of coolant in, little to no white smoke from exhaust? no coolant leaks and 0 drops in coolant level in header tank other than when it boils and spits out.