Full Service Guide (V6)

Technical questions and answers about the Mazda Bongo

Moderators: Doone, westonwarrior

wildrobot
Bongonaut

Full Service Guide (V6)

Post by wildrobot » Sun Aug 09, 2015 8:44 pm

Hello, I would like to give my V6 '98 Bongo a full service, i've had it for a year, love it! I did a bit of work on my Volvo 740 (waterpump replacement and oil change) but i have never done a full service before.

Is there somewhere with instructions of how to do this, i've searched the forum but can't seem to find a previous post of this nature (which seems odd!). Can't seem to find a youtube video either

I've read a lot of poor reviews of the expensive manual so reluctant to purchase this too.

Will i need any special tools to carry this out?

Many thanks

Andy
g8dhe
Supreme Being

Re: Full Service Guide (V6)

Post by g8dhe » Sun Aug 09, 2015 9:33 pm

There are a couple of Factsheets in the Clubs members area that relate to petrol and V6 service schedules.
Geoff
2001 Aero V6, AFT, full side conversion.
Image Spherical Visions
mikeWalsall
Supreme Being

Post by mikeWalsall » Mon Aug 10, 2015 12:56 am

If you change the dizzy cap .. rotor and leads that can be a fiddly job but quite do-able ..

Note though .. if you decide to flush out the cooling system make sure you now how to fully bleed air out of the system when you replace the coolant..

The rest is completely straight forward and there are no nasty surprises ..as an example .. I reckon changing the six NGK BKR5E 11 spark plugs are far easier than on many other motors .. in fact my 12 year old grandson could do them in around 15 minutes...

Once again the engine oil / filter and air filter are all 'childs play' to change ..