Front fogs not working

Technical questions and answers about the Mazda Bongo

Moderators: Doone, westonwarrior

bongo frenzee
Bongolier

Front fogs not working

Post by bongo frenzee » Sun Nov 20, 2011 7:03 pm

I noticed today that my front fog lamps are both not working (I have a new shape 1999 TD). Changed the fuse but that didn't help so I'm wondering if the bulbs have both blown - does anyone have any tips on changing the bulbs? The factsheet only covers headlamps, side lamps and rear cluster.

Any other things I should check if the bulbs are ok? (Please be as non-technical as possible as I am very new to motor maintenance of any description!)

Thanks.
Living for the weekends...

CUIDADO! VEICULO BONGO!
dave_aber
Supreme Being

Re: Front fogs not working

Post by dave_aber » Sun Nov 20, 2011 7:42 pm

It could be the relay. E2-02 on this drawing.

It's the furthest forward one on the passenger's side - here

Easiest way to check it out is to swap the wiring from it over to the relay behind it, and vice-versa. See if that fixes it.
Image...Image
There are 10 types of people in this world.
Those that understand binary, and those that don't.
bongo frenzee
Bongolier

Post by bongo frenzee » Sun Nov 20, 2011 8:32 pm

Thanks, but I think that's a bit advanced for me! :shock: Will try the bulbs if I can work out how to change them...

CUIDADO! VEICULO BONGO!
dave_aber
Supreme Being

Post by dave_aber » Sun Nov 20, 2011 8:54 pm

It's most unlikely that the 2 bulbs have gone at the same time. (One may have been blown for a while though?). However, it's probably easier to swap the 2 relay cables over than getting into the bulbs.

Do you have a leisure battery, or a twin battery ? If so, then it isn't as easy as the second battery is in the way.

If you have only got one battery, then open the bonnet, look to the right and along the inner wing you should see 4 relays which have black rubber hoods on them.