Rust

Technical questions and answers about the Mazda Bongo

Moderators: Doone, westonwarrior

stark
Bongonaut

Rust

Post by stark » Fri Sep 30, 2011 12:40 pm

We don't appear to have a dedicated Rust thread. Could this be it?

anyway, Bertie appears to be developing a few very small rust spots ( sort of about 2-5mm) which are just starting to bubble through the paintwork. I am a complete noob regards this so:

What do I do now. Oh and *please* keep the responses serious.
seventiesboy
Bongolier

Re: Rust

Post by seventiesboy » Fri Sep 30, 2011 3:14 pm

Where abouts are the rust spots?

Are they the seemingly "typical" rear arch ones?

What is the underside like? Has Bertie been waxoyled and undersealed?

I have a few spots on the rear arches that are being done next week, seems to be a bit of a weak spot on Bongos.
Why?...........Because somebody might wave back.
dblake
Bongolier

Post by dblake » Fri Sep 30, 2011 4:53 pm

Im interested in this too - i've the bubbles on the arches and the odd one elsewhere on the body work.
Would like to tidy themup for winter but knowing me i'll make a pigs ear of it!
Advice in laymans terms would be greatfully accepted! :)
BongoMTBer

Post by BongoMTBer » Fri Sep 30, 2011 5:16 pm

I do believe there is a top notch fact sheet on this in the members area.
stuc
Supreme Being

Post by stuc » Fri Sep 30, 2011 10:44 pm

If anyone would like to post pics i will do my best to give advice on bodywork/paintwork. I work as a trainer in vehicle estimating and painting so i should be able to give an insight into the correct way to rectify the problem, money allowing of course.
Do what you like.Like what you do.
Triple/R
Supreme Being

Post by Triple/R » Sat Oct 01, 2011 10:48 am

stuc wrote:If anyone would like to post pics i will do my best to give advice on bodywork/paintwork. I work as a trainer in vehicle estimating and painting so i should be able to give an insight into the correct way to rectify the problem, money allowing of course.