Mazda Bongo 2L Petrol auto W Reg

What's the MPG like? Can I use chip fat and veggie oil? What about LPG?

Moderator: Doone

Spud Murphy 1112
Apprentice Bongonaut

Mazda Bongo 2L Petrol auto W Reg

Post by Spud Murphy 1112 » Wed Nov 21, 2018 3:02 am

Bought my bongo 3 years ago I had a Thatcham cat 1 alarm and immobiliser fitted and have had no problems. Yesterday in rain headlights and wipers on accelerated away from lights and the vehicle died on me and would not start. Engine turns over but would not start RAC attended and I was towed home. I have had a mechanic look at it today and he tells me there is no spark or fuel getting to the engine. He checked there was fuel in gauge showing just under half a tank. Vehicle had been running fine. (I am not a mechanic) Any ideas I can suggest to next person I have to have a look at it greatly appreciated) I charged the battery overnight and tried again. The engine turns over but will not start.
Bob
Supreme Being

Re: Mazda Bongo 2L Petrol auto W Reg

Post by Bob » Wed Nov 21, 2018 8:25 am

Hi, and welcome to BF.

Since you suddenly lost spark and fuel to the engine I'd be looking at the immobiliser first.

Good luck.
g8dhe
Supreme Being

Post by g8dhe » Wed Nov 21, 2018 10:43 am

Given that its a petrol model and it failed during heavy rain with no spark I would suggest looking at the distributor, being at the front it gets any road spray coming up at it and if it is worn or the sealing ring has failed those are the symptoms that would be expected! Amazed that the RAC didn't check that ?
Geoff
2001 Aero V6, AFT, full side conversion.
Image Spherical Visions
Roy748
Bongolier

Post by Roy748 » Wed Nov 21, 2018 2:19 pm

Hi