Bongoing Wrong

Anything non-technical about the Mazda Bongo Friendee van

Moderators: Bongoplod, aitch

El Ferrito
Apprentice Bongonaut

Bongoing Wrong

Post by El Ferrito » Fri Nov 24, 2017 1:06 pm

Firstly, hello to all the Bongo Fury Members,

I am very new to the Bongo scene as my wife and I only purchased our first Bongo this summer and it has spent the majority of the time in the garage since then. Unfortunately for us, the 'minor' advisory for an oil leak on the MOT turned out to be about a grands worth of work.

So, having got over this initial hump, taken our Bongo back home and begun looking forward to a Wiltshire winter of testing our cold weather endurance, we were extremely pleased when a kind individual crunched into the front of the Bongo, smashing a headlight and bending and bruising a few bits of bodywork in the process. We were even more delighted that they failed entirely to leave any details.

I do wish them a very Merry Christmas indeed...

So... being a newbie... I wondered what the best way of getting hold of a new front right (driver's) side grill panel bit (no idea of the technical name, but it looks like part 52-81xa on the diagrams available through this website). http://lushprojects.com/bongopartsmk2/c ... no=.html#5

I also need a new Headlight cover (the bulb appears to still work) and most joyously, and the main reason for coming here, it appears the impact has shunted the right wing panel backwards enough to prevent the driver side door from opening. So my main question is how likely I will be able to get it bent back into place rather than replacing it...

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1VDl2y0 ... sp=sharing

That should link to an image of the Bongo in question.

Any help much appreciated, be easy on me though, I am not exactly a mechanic...

Thanks,

El Ferrito
Northern Bongolow
Supreme Being

Re: Bongoing Wrong

Post by Northern Bongolow » Fri Nov 24, 2017 2:47 pm