Stereo woes

Technical questions and answers about the Mazda Bongo

Moderators: Doone, westonwarrior

uncle monty
Bongonaut

Stereo woes

Post by uncle monty » Mon Jun 09, 2014 4:36 pm

Hi, I have an annoying little issue that just raised it's head. If i have the stereo on for more than about 5 minutes it turns itself off/goes dead and the orange coil/pre-heat light starts flashing, it flashes for about 5 minutes, then goes off. The Bongo runs fine, no loss of power, misfire or any other noticeable issue. I am not good with electrics, does anyone have any idea what the issue might be please? I was advised it might be because my LB was flat however i have since replaced the LB with a brand new one but still having the same problem. Searched a few old posts but not found anything that answers my question.

Thanks,
Jon
Gasy
Supreme Being

Re: Stereo woes

Post by Gasy » Mon Jun 09, 2014 5:38 pm

Has the new leisure battery still got charge in it or flat?
Gas safe heating engineer / plumber if you need any advice just shout.
g8dhe
Supreme Being

Post by g8dhe » Mon Jun 09, 2014 9:40 pm

Has it always done this or has it only recently started ?
Geoff
2001 Aero V6, AFT, full side conversion.
Image Spherical Visions
uncle monty
Bongonaut

Post by uncle monty » Mon Jun 09, 2014 9:59 pm

g8dhe wrote:Has it always done this or has it only recently started ?
Started a few months back. I checked LB and it was dead, only chucking out 10.5v. Changed to new one but still happening. Only use bongo at weekends so shouldn't have flattened battery but will check tomorrow. Can't think what would be draining it.
hijimhere
Tribal Elder

Post by hijimhere » Mon Jun 09, 2014 10:08 pm

Is the problem still there if you switch the radio off?
uncle monty
Bongonaut

Post by uncle monty » Mon Jun 09, 2014 10:28 pm

It switches itself off. Coil light flashes for a few mins after then dissapears again.
g8dhe
Supreme Being

Post by g8dhe » Tue Jun 10, 2014 8:55 am