faulty tap

Questions & answers about kitchen units, stoves, fridges, heaters, water tanks, seats, mattresses etc etc.

Moderator: Doone

katem1303
Apprentice Bongonaut

faulty tap

Post by katem1303 » Mon Apr 03, 2017 4:53 pm

Help- I am not technical ! So far I have always used portable water bottles with my Bongo but i'm going abroad in 4 weeks- for a 2 month road trip and want to use the on board water tank. I had never used the tap. over winter I had the internal electrics and water tank checked, and as i drove off , the tap 'worked' ( was in on position apparently) and poured out some water-I switched it off. Since then it doesn't work at all - I can hear the micro switch click, but thats all- fuse seems ok. The places I have tried to get it looked at are booked til mid may - can anyone advise/explain how i could check what may be wrong and put it right? thanks from a single female wants to be practical and clean, camper! :)
Gasy
Supreme Being

Re: faulty tap

Post by Gasy » Mon Apr 03, 2017 5:54 pm

Do you have a on board water tank ?
If so is there a switch for the tap
Sounds like the pumps seized
Gas safe heating engineer / plumber if you need any advice just shout.
Bob
Supreme Being

Post by Bob » Mon Apr 03, 2017 6:34 pm

Don't take this as patronising, please, but there is water in the tank?

That can catch any of us. :wink:

If you're coming down the M5 at the start of the trip I'll take a look. Close to J19/20 and could fit in with a stop over.

Things to check also include is there power to the pump and the earth good? Is there a pressure switch in the system which needs adjustment, has the pipe come off somewhere and dumping water where its not wanted?
katem1303
Apprentice Bongonaut

Post by katem1303 » Mon Apr 03, 2017 7:05 pm

When theres water in the on-board tank ( sits under the floor) the tap doesnt work - as far as I am aware it should work when master switch is on?
ie rear circuits/fridge etc?
katem1303
Apprentice Bongonaut